Skip to Content

The European Diversity Month 2022 opening event


Join us online on 28 April to ‘meet’ the winners of the 2022 European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity Awards.
Over 80 towns, regions and cities across Europe competed for the Awards in three categories.
Find out live who wins and learn about the work they are doing to build a Union of equality.


Isabelle Kumar, Euronews

Helena Dalli, Commissioner for Equality, European Commission

With attendance of Věra Jourová, Vice President, European Commission for Values and Transparency

15:30 - 15:35

Short break

With attendance of Apostolos Tzitzikostas, President, European Committee of the Regions

16:05 - 16:20

Coffee break

With attendance of Helena Dalli, Commissioner for Equality, European Commission

16:50 - 16:55

Short break – opening of the online voting

Ana Gallego, Director-General, DG Justice & Consumers, European Commission

Isabelle Kumar, Euronews

Background information


The Award sets out to recognize and highlight best practices in diversity and inclusion that can then go on to become a source of inspiration to other places in Europe and help build more diverse and inclusive environments for citizens.

It rewards local authorities pursuing best practices that promote diversity as a source of richness and innovation, contribute to inclusive policies and foster a feeling of belonging amongst  citizens.

The Award will recognise three towns, cities or regions in two categories:

  • local authorities with less than 50 000 inhabitants;
  • local authorities with more than 50 000 inhabitants.

There is also a special Award for  local authorities promoting Roma inclusion with three winners  (the number of inhabitants is not a factor for this Award).


Prominent representatives of EU institutions will reveal the Award winners live and we’ll hear from the Mayor of each winning local authority.

The audience will get the chance to have their say by voting for the ‘public vote winner’ towards the end of the ceremony.

More on the Award


Back to top